Just In – January 2018

January 2018

You may want to try these well reviewed books that may not make it to the bestseller list, but shouldn’t be missed.

 The Body in the Clouds: a novel / Ashley Hay

When a man falls from the sky and survives—the three men who witness it, in different ways and at different times, as they stand on the same piece of land—find their lives transformed by this magical event as they all struggle to understand the meaning of what “home” is.

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley: a novel / Hannah Tinti

Loo is twelve when she moves back to the New England fishing village of her early youth. Her father, Hawley, finds work on the boats, while she undergoes the usual heartaches of a new kid in school. But lurking over Loo are mysteries, both of the mother who passed away, of the grandmother she’s forbidden to speak to. And hurtling towards both father and daughter are the ghosts of Hawley’s past. Before Loo’s birth, he was a professional criminal engaged in increasingly elaborate and dangerous underworld schemes. Samuel Hawley took “twelve bullets” in his brutal career. The scars have healed, but there is a reckoning still to come.

Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore: a novel / Matthew Sullivan

Lydia Smith is enjoying her comfortable life. She has a job she loves at the Bright Ideas Bookstore. Then one of her favorite “bookfrogs” (code word for eccentric bookstore regulars) commits suicide and leaves her his small horde of books. She discovers a strangely methodical defacement which is a kind of code. A delicate spider web of connections leading back to a murderous incident in Lydia’s childhood is revealed.

The Music Shop / Rachel Joyce

The owner of a 1988 music shop in a down-at-heel suburban community uses his talent for connecting customers to the music they seek and resists a chance at an intimate relationship with a beautiful young woman who hides a mysterious agenda and compels him to confront painful elements from his past.

Salt Houses / Hala Alyan

Foreseeing blessings and troubles in the lives of her daughter and grandchildren, Salma endures hardships stemming from the Six-Day War of 1967 in Palestine before rebuilding in Kuwait, before the family is scattered by Saddam Hussein’s regime.

Ashes of Fiery Weather / Kathleen Donohoe

A multigenerational tale about the passionate loves and losses of women in a family of firefighters traces their experiences spanning from famine-era Ireland to Brooklyn a decade after the September 11 attacks.

Dinner at the Center of the Earth / Nathan Englander

A prisoner in a secret cell. The guard who has watched over him a dozen years. An American waitress in Paris. A young Palestinian man in Berlin who strikes up an odd friendship with a wealthy Canadian businessman. And The General, Israel’s most controversial leader, who lies dying in a hospital, the only man who knows of the prisoner’s existence.

Unraveling Oliver / Liz Nugent

In this “compelling, clever, and dark” thriller, a man’s shocking act of savagery stuns a local community—and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped until the very last page. Perfect for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Ruth Ware.

Birdcage Walk / Helen Dunmore

A novel set in Bristol at the height of the Romantic Era that follows a freethinking young woman in her new marriage to a ruthlessly ambitious property developer.

Advertisements